Presidential Inaugural Ceremony

Elect next President of the United States and Vice President of the United States

New Page 1

59th Presidential Inauguration Committee:

Senator Roy D. Blunt

Chairman (R- Missouri)


Senator Amy J. Klobuchar

Vice Chairwoman (D-Missouri)


Senator Mitch Mitchell

Senator Minority Leader (R-Kentucky)


Nancy P. Pelosi

Speaker of the House (D-California)


Steny H. Hoyer

House Majority Leader (D-Maryland)


Kevin O. McCarthy

House Minority Leader (R-California)


Joseph R. Biden, Jr.

46th President of the United States (D-Delaware)


Kamala D. Harris

49th Vice President of the United States (D-California)

New Page 1

Presidential Inauguration Information:

The inauguration of the President of the United States is a ceremonial event marking the commencement of a new four-year term of a President of the United States. The day a presidential inauguration occurs is known as "Inauguration Day" and occurs on January 20 (or 21st if the 20th is a Sunday).


The only inauguration element mandated by the United States Constitution is that the President make an oath or affirmation before that person can "enter on the Execution" of the office of the presidency. However, over the years, various traditions have arisen that have expanded the inauguration from a simple oath-taking ceremony to a day-long event, including parades, speeches, and balls.


Ceremony Elements:

Inauguration procedure is governed by tradition rather than the Constitution, the only constitutionally required procedure being the presidential oath of office (which may be taken anywhere, with anyone in attendance who can legally witness an oath, and at anytime prior to the actual beginning of the new president's term). Traditionally, the president-elect arrives at the White House and proceeds to the inaugural grounds at the United States Capitol with the incumbent president.


At noon, the new presidential and vice presidential terms begin. At about that time, the president-elect takes the oath of office, traditionally administered by the Chief Justice of the United States, using the form mandated in Article II, Section One of the United States Constitution.


Oath of the Office of the President of the United States:

The Oath of office of the President of the United States is the oath or affirmation that the President of the United States takes after assuming the presidency but before he or she begins the execution of the office. The wording is specified in Article II, Section One, Clause 8 of the United States Constitution:


Before he or she enter the Executive of his or her Office, he or she shall take the following Oath or Affirmation:

"I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States."


This clause is one of several that employ the oath concept, but it is the only clause that actually specifies the language of an oath of a constitutional officer. While the Oaths Clause in Article VI simply requires the persons specified therein to "be bound by oath or affirmation, to support this Constitution," the Presidential Oath Clause requires much more than this general oath of allegiance and fidelity. This clause enjoins the President to swear or affirm that he or she "will to the best of [his or her] ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States."


Immediately after the presidential oath, the United States Marine Band will perform four ruffles and flourishes, followed by Hail to the Chief, while simultaneously, a 21-gun salute is fired using artillery pieces from the Presidential Guns Salute Batter, 3d United States Infantry Regiment "The Old Guard" located in Taft Park, north of the Capitol. The actual gun salute begins with the first ruffle and flourish, and 'run long' (i.e. the salute concludes after Hail to the Chief has ended).


Presidential Inaugural Balls:

The United States presidential inaugural balls are large social gatherings, both white tie and black tie, held to celebrate the commencement of a new term of the President of the United States. Planned and sanctioned by the Presidential Inaugural Committee, the official inaugural balls occur throughout the evening of Inauguration Day in the Washington, D.C. area and are invitation-only, attended by guests who are issued pre-paid tickets. The President, First Lady, Vice President and his or her spouse, all make personal appearances at each of the inaugural balls held in their honor. Catered food, beverages, and live entertainment performed by national and globally acclaimed musicians are provided at the inaugural balls.


Other inaugural balls, unofficial and often less formal that occur before and on Inauguration Day, are given by state societies, businesses, and private organizations.


Live Coverage of the Presidential Inauguration 2021:


National Television:

  • Bloomberg

  • CNBC

  • CNN

  • C-SPAN

  • FOX Business Network

  • FOX News Channel


National Radio:

  • CBS News Radio

  • C-SPAN Radio

  • CNN

  • FOX News Radio

Local Television Station:

  • WBZ (CBS) Channel 4

  • WCVB (ABC) Channel 5

  • WHDH Channel 7

  • WBTS (NBC) Channel 10

  • WFXT (FOX) Channel 25

Local Radio Station:

  • WBZ NewsRadio 1030 AM

  • WRKO 680 AM